National Primary Mastery Programme

The programme, run by the NCETM in conjunction with Maths Hubs, is underway and significantly builds on the work already undertaken to spread and embed teaching for mastery approaches in maths lessons in English primary schools.

Once fully trained, each one of these new specialist teachers will lead the professional development of further groups of teachers in schools within their Maths Hub area. Over time, this will spread the understanding of, and expertise in, teaching maths for mastery widely across the primary school system. Four participant teachers will be recruited in each Maths Hub area, so ensuring an even spread of new teaching and leadership capacity across the country.

This programme will be delivered through four partner schools:

  • Parkside Primary School, Goole
  • Adelaide Primary School, Hull
  • Roberttown CE Junior & Infant School, Liversedge, West Yorkshire
  • Hornsea Primary School, East Riding of Yorkshire

If you wish to be part of the teacher research groups, or simply observe mastery teaching, please contact us on, stating your nearest school from the above list.

Latest News – November 2015

The Yorkshire and Humber MathsHub NCP5 Mastery Leads have had their first two days training and are now trialling what they have learnt in their classrooms. They have invited local primaries to be part of their teacher research groups (TRG) and have already recruited at least 5 schools per Mastery Lead. This is great news.

The TRGs will be up and running in the new year – but they with receive further information from their Mastery Leads this half-term – Suzanne Coxon, Susan Glaves, Suzanne Dunn and Charlotte Woolin.

The team will keep you regularly updated with any findings they have from their own classrooms. We start with Charlotte’s news this week from her first two Mastery lessons.

I just did 2 lessons with y5/6, but these are mainly low level 3 with level 4 who struggle with explanations and reasoning. I just did addition as increasing by…. and addition as combining 2 groups on day 2. I used numbers to 10 initially with pictures of children and money and cubes then moved onto introduce ‘part part whole’ which they loved! They even cheered when I said now to move onto our ‘part part whole model’!

I REALLY enjoyed it and it’s making them THINK! Love it!

Charlotte Woolin NCP5
Hornsea Primary School

Questions and comments

If, after reading the full description of the programme, you have any further questions, please email them to