Secondary Teaching for Mastery at Key Stage 3

The secondary teaching for mastery at key stage 3 is a new work group this year which we are really excited about. This follows on from the work done in the Maths Hub last year on developing a KS3 curriculum to meet the key aims and incorporate pedagogy from the Shanghai exchange.

This Work Group is a free CPD opportunity for two members of your department. There will be 6 sessions throughout the year.

The teachers involved would leave with a greater understanding of teaching for understanding. They will not only receive training in each session but also get to see a lesson in practice. Each session will provide staff with resources which they can take back into school and share with their department, as well as training resources to develop other staff in the department.

2016-17 Expression of Interest Form

For information about the work group.

The session dates for Cohort 2: Wakefield (at Outwood Grange Academy) are:

  • Friday 14th October 2016
  • Friday 2nd December 2016
  • Friday 27th January 2017
  • Friday 24th March 2017
  • Friday 5th May 2017
  • Friday 7th July 2017

Each session begins with coffee from 7:45am to 12pm.

The session dates for Cohort 2: North Doncaster (Outwood Academy Adwick) are:

  • Friday 18th November 2016
  • Friday 13th January 2017
  • Friday 3rd March 2017
  • Friday 28th April 2017
  • Friday 30th June 2017 (last date provisional but may change)

Each session begins with coffee from 7:45am to 12pm.

The session dates for Cohort 3: Worksop (Outwood Academy Valley)

  • Tuesday 6th December 2016
  • Tuesday 31st January 2017
  • Tuesday 28th March 2017
  • Tuesday 20th June 2017
  • Tuesday 18th July 2017

Sessions start at 7:45am to 12pm.

The session dates for Cohort 4: Sheffield (Outwood Academy City)

  • Tuesday 24th January 2017
  • Tuesday 21th March 2017
  • Tuesday 2nd May 2017
  • Tuesday 4th July 2017

Each session begins with coffee from 7:45am to 12pm.

There will also be a Cohort 5: East Doncaster (Hungerhill School)

Details coming soon.

Please read the Expression of Interest document which goes into more detail about the project.