Back to All Events

Physics Teacher Subject Specialism Training Project 2019-20

  • Outwood Institute of Education Tenter Balk Lane Doncaster, England, DN6 United Kingdom (map)

The Outwood Institute of Education is delighted to offer Physics subject knowledge training for non-specialist secondary teachers of physics. Participants can access a funded year-long programme – the only cost to your school is any cover/travel costs incurred when attending sessions.

We have one cohort running in Doncaster in the academic year 2019-20 with the following sessions:

  • Session 1: Welcome and Introduction Energy

    Thursday 5 December 2019
    3:30 - 5:45

  • Session 2: Forces and Motion

    Thursday 19 December 2019
    3:30 - 5:45

  • Session 3: Current and Static

    Wednesday 22 January 2020
    3:30 - 5:45 

  • Session 4: Pressure and moments

    Wednesday 5 February 2020
    3:30 – 5:45

  • Session 5: Waves

    Thursday 12 March 2020
    3:30 – 5:45

  • Session 6: Radioactivity

    Thursday 19 March 2020
    3:30 - 5;45

  • Session 7: Electromagnetism

    Wednesday 29 April 2020
    3:30 – 5:45

  • Session 8: Thermal Physics

    Thursday 14 May 2020
    3:30 – 5;45

  • Session 9: Earth and Space

    Thursday 4 June 2020
    3:30 - 5:45

  • Session 10: Evaluation

    Wednesday 24 June 2020
    3:30 – 5:45

To register your interest, please click on the button below:

You do not have to currently be teaching Physics to be applicable although all participants must either have QTS, be employed as an unqualified teacher or have QTLS.

All sessions are delivered by Specialist Leaders of Education from the Outwood Institute of Education. Programmes are held at the Outwood Conference Centre, Outwood Academy Adwick, Doncaster.

To ensure minimum impact on schools, sessions are a mixture of full days, twilights and weekend sessions; attendance to the first session is mandatory and further session will be decided once delegates’ needs have been identified.