Student Loan Reimbursement For Teachers: Register Your Interest

In 2017, the Department for Education (DfE)  launched a new scheme that will allow eligible teachers to apply for student loan reimbursements for up to 11 financial years.

The pilot scheme is aimed at teachers of languages, physics, chemistry, biology, and computer science with the intention of improving and increasing recruitment and retention.

Applications will open in September for financial year 2018/19 student loan reimbursements.

To be eligible for the scheme teachers in the first five years of their careers, and who gained their QTS or QTLS between 2013-2020, must meet certain employment and subject criteria.

For a full outline of the eligibility criteria and further information, please visit:

Emma Rennison, Executive Director of the Outwood Institute of Education, said: “The student loan reimbursement pilot scheme launched by the DfE is a good opportunity for those beginning their teaching career to get some financial help as they establish themselves within the profession.”

If you believe you’re eligible for the scheme, you can register your interest here: